Our Team


2018 (from left) Aleksandra Wcisłek, Piotr Sobolewski, Ewa Wiśniewska, Jakub Orlikowski, Agata Niemczyk, Agnieszka Piegat, Catherine Miles, Mirosława El Fray, Agnieszka Kozłowska, Anna Blejson, Hamid Reza Sadegh, Agata Goszczyńska, Wojciech Ignaczak, Marta Piątek-Hnat, Rahul Sahay


Division of Functional Materials and Biomaterials

The Division of Functional Materials and Biomaterials (formerly the Division of Biomaterials and Microbiological Technologies) was established on January 1st, 2007, from the Laboratory of Biomaterials and Functional Polymers, within the Polymer Institute of the Faculty of Chemical Technology and Engineering of the former Szczecin University of Technology. At present, the Division employs 5 full-time academic staff: Professor Mirosława El Fray, the Head of the Division (also, The Director of Polymer Institute), and four Assistant Professors. Additional staff include: 1 Teaching Assistant, 1 Research Assistant Professor, 2 Research Assistants, 2 PhD students, a 2 member technical support team, and 1 administrative assistant.


The Division’s primary research focus is the synthesis/production and modification of polymeric materials for medical applications. Additionally, our Division also conducts basic research into the chemistry of polymers, composites, and polymer nanocomposites. 

The most important research topics include:

·      Synthesis and study of polymeric materials containing various fatty acid derivatives

·      Modification of natural polymers, including chitosan, alginate, hyaluronic acid

·      Synthesis of natural origin polymeric materials capable of self-assembly in aqueous media and their application in micelles/nanospheres for encapsulating drugs and other bioactive compounds

·      Research into the degradation of polymeric materials, including the release of entrapped drugs

·      Use of enzymes as natural catalysts for the synthesis of bioresorbable and biocompatible copolymers

·      Synthesis of novel injectable biomaterials for minimally invasive procedures

·      Production of three-dimensional polymer constructs by electrospinning and 3D printing

·      Preparation/synthesis of multiblock copolyester nanocomposites

·      Production and study of polymer composites reinforced with chopped fibres

·      Application of biodegradable aliphatic copolyesters for drug microencapsulation

·      Synthesis and study of elastomeric polyester networks

Our Division is well equipped to carry out this wide range of polymer science research, as well as undergraduate and graduate teaching. Polymer synthesis is carried out in professional-grade vacuum and pressure reactors.  Polymer processing capabilities include Laurell spin coater (production of thin films), Zortrax 3D printer, SonoPlot microplotter, and an electrospinning setup (micro and nanofibres) with integrated of 3D capability. The mechanical properties of obtained materials are tested using Instron uniaxial and dynamic testing machines. Additional analysis equipment includes Malvern Zetasizer for measuring the size of micro- and nanoparticles, Krüss drop shape analyser, Brüker FTIR and Jasco UV-VIS spectrometers, and various optical microscopes. Analysis of low-molecular compounds (released drugs, degradation products) can be performed using Shimazdu high-performance liquid chromatograph with UV and RID detectors. A fully equipped biological laboratory, including cell culture facility with BSLII cabinets, enables conducting research with selected cell lines. Finally, ISO7 clean room (with ISO5 zone) enables sample preparation and research in dust-free conditions.

Our Division collaborates with universities, research institutes, and companies from across Poland (Warsaw University of Technology, Institute of Materials Engineering; AGH University of Science and Technology, Faculty of Materials Science and Ceramics; Institute of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology) and around the world (University of Bayreuth (Germany), Polymer Engineering, Materials Processing, Friedrich-Baur Research Institute for Biomaterials; University of Akron (USA), Department of Polymer Science; University of Erlangen-Nürnberg (Germany), Institute for Biomaterials; The New Jersey Center for Biomaterials (USA); The Weizmann Institute of Science (Israel)).

Current research projects are funded by the National Science Center (NCN) and the National Center for Research and Development (NCBiR). 




Professor Mirosława El Fray, PhD, DSc - Head of Division, Director of Polymer Institute, Director of Nanotechnology Centre, phone: 91 449 48 28, e-mail: mirfray@zut.edu.pl



Agnieszka Kozłowska, PhD, adjunct (Assistant Professor)

phone: 91 449 46 12, e-mail: agak@zut.edu.pl


Agnieszka Piegat, PhD, adjunct (Assistant Professor)
phone: 91 449 44 55, e-mail: apiegat@zut.edu.pl


Marta Piątek-Hnat, PhD, adjunct (Assistant Professor)
phone: 91 449 41 89, e-mail: marp@zut.edu.pl


Piotr Sobolewski, PhD, adjunct (Assistant Professor)
phone: 91 449 44 55, e-mail: psobolewski@zut.edu.pl



Wojciech Ignaczak, MSc, assistant

phone: 91 449 40 98, e-mail: wignaczak@zut.edu.pl


Agata Goszczynska, PhD, research assistant 

phone: 91 449 4098, e-mail: agata.goszczynska@zut.edu.pl


Agata Niemczyk, PhD, research assistant
phone: 91 449 4098, e-mail: aniemczyk@zut.edu.pl



Anna Blejson, MSc (secretary) 

phone/fax: 91 449 40 98, e-mail: ablejson@zut.edu.pl


Ewa Wiśniewska, PhD, senior specialist

phone: 91 449 4189, e-mail: ewaw@zut.edu.pl


Jakub Orlikowski, MSc, specialist 

phone: 91 449 6046, e-mail: Jakub.Orlikowski@zut.edu.pl




Bogusława Gradzik, MSc 
phone: 91 449 40 98, e-mail: bgradzik@zut.edu.pl


Wojciech Ignaczak, MSc

phone: 91 449 40 98, e-mail: wignaczak@zut.edu.pl


Undergraduate students:

  • Bukała Julia
  • Lubocha Anna
  • Młynarczyk Karolina
  • Możyc Martyna
  • Pieczykolan Magdalena
  • Plaga Magda
  • Rogalski Karol
  • Aksman Klaudia
  • Majewska Alicja
  • Stępień Karolina

Former members: 

  • dr inż. Paulina Ścisłowska 
  • mgr inż. Sylwia Kirkowska 
  • mgr inż. Paweł P. Sobecki 
  • mgr inż. Monika Zawisza
  • dr inż. Barbara Pabin-Szafko
  • dr inż. Jędrzej Skrobot
  • dr hab. Krzysztof Ulfig, prof. ZUT
  • dr inż. Joanna Szczeblińska
  • mgr inż. Hanna Dudek
  • mgr inż. Zdzisław Maćków
  • dr inż. Agueda Sonseca-Ollala (ES)
  • dr inż. Michał Rybko
  • dr inż. Zygmunt Staniszewski
  • dr inż. Rahul Sahay (IN)